Random Start: Nothing – “July the Fourth”

I really liked Guilty of Everything. It was one of my favorite records of 2014. But while it was a throwback to 80s and 90s sad shoegaze/dream pop with a hint of grunge, “July the Fourth” is the full on Seattle sound and i LOVE it. The main riff reminds me of other non-album cuts by the likes of Nirvana on “I Hate Myself and I Wanna Die” and “Sappy” (or “Verse Chorus Verse” however you see fit).  The new song and some of the teasers from Nothing make me think Guilty of Everything 2 is coming, but I’d be pretty happy if some of these heavy grunge buzzsaw guitars were included.

nothing-whirr-split

Leave a Reply

